Trail - 95.7FM
Castlegar - 90.3FM
Grand Forks - 103.3FM
Creston - AM 1340
Nelson - 106.9FM
Crawford Bay - 101FM
New Denver - 93.5FM
Kaslo - 95.3FM
Nakusp - 103.1FM

Country, Traditional Country, Country-Pop, Honky Tonk, Nashville Sound/Countrypolitan

Album Review

Ray Price may not exert the mythic power of Hank Williams, Bob Wills, or even Lefty Frizzell, but he is unquestionably one of the titans of 20th century country music, one of the musicians who created the foundation of modern country through his skipping shuffles, soulful ballads, and exceptional ear for talent in songwriters and supporting musicians. He was one of the most popular singers of his era, staying on the charts until the early '80s (!), but Columbia/Legacy's 20-track 1991 collection The Essential Ray Price (1951-1962) chronicles his peak of creative powers and as a hitmaker. It's possible to hear him evolve from a Hank/Lefty disciple to minting his own style, equal parts hardcore honky tonk and Western swing, supported by a prominent swinging two-step backbeat that was known as the Ray Price Shuffle even after countless other singers used it as the foundation for their own music. It's thrilling to hear this develop over the course of his '50s hits, taking hold around 1955 (about a third into this collection) and reaching full flower on 1956's "Crazy Arms," which arrives halfway through the collection. From this point on, Price's music is propelled by the shuffle, even on the ballads, and it's a body of work as individual and influential as anything else in country music, perhaps best heard on the hits "My Shoes Keep Walking Back to You," Roger Miller's "Invitation to the Blues," Bill Anderson's "City Lights," and Harlan Howard's timeless "Heartaches By the Number." This is the sound of modern honky tonk music -- Hank and Lefty were the godfathers, but on the sides Ray Price cut from 1955 onward, he invented the template that neo-traditionalist country singers followed. It remains vital, lively, and essential music, and there's no better place to hear it than Columbia/Legacy's excellent The Essential Ray Price (1951-1962).
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. If You're Ever Lonely Darling
  2. The Road of No Return
  3. Turn to Your Heart
  4. Move on in and Stay
  5. I'll Be There (If You Ever Want Me)
  6. Release Me
  7. I Can't Go Home Like This
  8. You Done Me Wrong
  9. Falling Falling Falling
  10. Wasted Words
  11. Crazy Arms
  12. I've Got a New Heartache
  13. My Shoes Keep Walking Back to You
  14. Invitation to the Blues
  15. City Lights
  16. Heartaches by the Number
  17. The Same Old Me
  18. One More Time
  19. Heart Over Mind
  20. Pride
purchase full album