Trail - 95.7FM
Castlegar - 90.3FM
Grand Forks - 103.3FM
Creston - AM 1340
Nelson - 106.9FM
Crawford Bay - 101FM
New Denver - 93.5FM
Kaslo - 95.3FM
Nakusp - 103.1FM

March 28, 2006
Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Soft Rock, AM Pop

Album Review

Atlantic/Rhino's 2006 double-disc The Definitive Collection is a truncated version of Rhino's 1996 double-disc, Retrospective, which has been seriously edited for this reissue. The 1996 comp ran a generous 50 songs, featuring not only all of Bread's hits, but also solo singles from James Griffin and David Gates, including the latter's classic hit "The Goodbye Girl." The 2006 comp knocks off 20 of those songs -- well, 21, really, since "I Want You with Me" is the only one of the 30 songs here that wasn't on Retrospective -- and offers an edited version of that set's liner notes. The big hits are all here -- including "If," "Make It with You," "Baby I'm-A Want You," "Everything I Own," and "The Guitar Man." Any listener going in cold to The Definitive Collection, not knowing about the previous double-disc set, will likely find this reasonably satisfying, but Retrospective is better than this set in every way. And if given the choice between the two -- which most consumers will be, since both The Definitive Collection and Retrospective are on the market simultaneously -- there's no reason to select this one over its more comprehensive cousin.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Dismal Day
  2. London Bridge
  3. Any Way You Want Me
  4. The Last Time
  5. Friends and Lovers
  6. Make It with You
  7. Look What You've Done
  8. I Want You with Me
  9. Why Do You Keep Me Waiting
  10. Call on Me
  11. It Don't Matter to Me [Single Version]
  12. Let Your Love Go
  13. If
  14. Too Much Love
  15. He's a Good Lad
  16. Take Comfort
  17. Truckin'
  18. Mother Freedom
  19. Baby I'm-A Want You
  20. Down on My Knees
  21. Daughter
  22. Everything I Own
  23. Diary
  24. The Guitar Man
  25. Aubrey
  26. Fancy Dancer
  27. Sweet Surrender
  28. Lost Without Your Love
  29. She's the Only One
  30. Hooked on You