Trail - 95.7FM
Castlegar - 90.3FM
Grand Forks - 103.3FM
Creston - AM 1340
Nelson - 106.9FM
Crawford Bay - 101FM
New Denver - 93.5FM
Kaslo - 95.3FM
Nakusp - 103.1FM

Shimmy Disc
Pop/Rock, Psychobilly, Rockabilly, Post-Punk, Rockabilly Revival, Alternative/Indie Rock

Album Review

The final two albums by the avant rock trio Shockabilly were their creative high points, the albums where their combination of silly, antic humor and experimental noise finally truly came together. It's not that these albums are any less goofy than what had come before -- guitarist Eugene Chadbourne still sings a lot of the songs in those silly cartoon voices that Primus stole outright, and bassist Kramer introduces that bizarre sped-up voice that he later used on the Bongwater records with Ann Magnuson. New drummer David Licht, who became an integral part of Kramer's world starting with these records, gives the band more of a rock & roll wallop, the same sort of heft that Sonic Youth suddenly gained when Steve Shelley joined. These are still self-consciously abrasive, "difficult" records filled with alternately giggly and creepy sound collages, but songs like "How Can You Kill Me, I'm Already Dead" (a disturbing musical recasting of some of Charles Manson's public rants) and Kramer's unexpectedly bouncy "Pity Me Sheena" have a musical presence and authority that Shockabilly's earlier records lacked.
Stewart Mason, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Pile Up All Architecture
  2. Born on the Bayou
  3. Your U.S.A. and My Face
  4. (I Don't Wanna Go To) Vietnam
  5. Flying
  6. Nicaragua
  7. Paris
  8. Iran into Tulsa
  9. Georgia in a Jug
  10. Lucifer Sam
  11. Signed D.C.
  12. Heaven Instant Krama
  13. She Was a Living, Breathing Piece of Dirt
  14. Red Headed Stranger
  15. When You Dream About Bleeding
  16. Tau and the Soldier
  17. Life's a Gas
  18. Tray-Panning the Man
  19. Hendrix Buried in Tacoma
  20. How Can You Kill Me, I'm Already Dead
  21. Vampire Tiger Girl Strikes Again
  22. Pity Me Sheena
  23. Happy New Year
  24. Our Metempsychosis
purchase full album