Trail - 95.7FM
Castlegar - 90.3FM
Grand Forks - 103.3FM
Creston - AM 1340
Nelson - 106.9FM
Crawford Bay - 101FM
New Denver - 93.5FM
Kaslo - 95.3FM
Nakusp - 103.1FM

April 26, 2005
EMI Music Distribution
Vocal Music, Holidays, Show Tunes, Traditional Pop, Vocal Pop, Cast Recordings

Album Review

Wayne Newton has spent the better part of five decades playing to sold-out houses in the Nevada desert, so it comes as no surprise that the state's most famous town feels compelled to honor one of its most recognizable icons with a compilation worthy of his nickname. Part of EMI's Las Vegas Centennial Celebration series -- the liner notes include a letter from the mayor -- Mr. Las Vegas! compiles 19 of the immaculately coiffed crooner's most beloved studio hits, as well as two bonus live tracks from a 1964 show at the Crescendo in Hollywood. Capitol Records classics like "Danke Schoën," "Volare (Nel Blu Di Pinto Di Blu)," "Strangers in the Night," and "I'm Looking Over a Four Leaf Clover" may have suffered under the stampede of "Beatlemania," but Newton had a knack for injecting them with the same kind of youthful pizzazz that his mentor, Bobby Darin, gave to songs like "Mack the Knife" -- covered here by Newton -- and "Beyond the Sea." While the world is in no danger of running out of Wayne Newton collections, Mr. Las Vegas! is an attractively packaged, efficiently detailed, and solidly built jackpot of "Sin City" song.
James Christopher Monger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Danke Schoen
  2. As Long As I'm Singing
  3. Strangers in the Night
  4. They Can't Take That Away from Me
  5. Shangri-La
  6. Volare (Nel Blu Di Pinto Di Blu)
  7. Toot, Toot, Tootsie, Goodbye
  8. Call Me Irresponsible
  9. More
  10. Hello, Dolly!
  11. Wives and Lovers
  12. I've Got the World on a String
  13. L-O-V-E
  14. My Kind of Girl
  15. These Boots Are Made for Walkin'
  16. I'm Looking Over a Four Leaf Clover
  17. I Left My Heart in San Francisco
  18. Charade
  19. Bye Bye Blackbird
  20. You're Nobody 'Til Somebody Loves You [Live][*]
  21. Mack the Knife [Live][*]
purchase full album