Trail - 95.7FM
Castlegar - 90.3FM
Grand Forks - 103.3FM
Creston - AM 1340
Nelson - 106.9FM
Crawford Bay - 101FM
New Denver - 93.5FM
Kaslo - 95.3FM
Nakusp - 103.1FM

April 01, 2003
Pop/Rock, AM Pop, Soft Rock, Adult Contemporary, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Dance-Pop

Album Review

Since it's a cross-licensed, 21-track collection, it stands to reason that Warner Strategic Marketing's 2003 The Very Best of Cher is finally the Cher collection that gets it right, presenting a fully rounded portrait of her long, winding, multi-label career. It's not, but it's closer than any previous collection, eclipsing Hip-O's 2001 The Ultimate Collection by containing hits from every aspect of her career, from Sonny & Cher's "I Got You Babe" to her 1999 comeback, "Believe" and beyond to the new, Rodney Jerkins-produced "A Different Kind of Love Song" (yes, it does feature heavy vocoder work). Where other collections emphasized her '70s hits, this focuses on the Geffen work, which may be appropriate since they rarely appeared on hits compilations before this, along with the late-'90s comeback on Warner. This is all pushed toward the front, taking up the first 11 songs, which, frankly, is infuriating sequencing, especially since it bounces between the Geffen album rock and the post-house, neo-disco of the Warner years. Also, there is simply too much Warner material, given that apart from "Believe" it was entirely too generic and also not big hits. They nearly knock the collection off track by providing a dead stretch in the middle of the record before it regains momentum with 1979's "Take Me Home" and then more or less works its way back to her beginning. This is a bewildering choice in sequencing, and it hurts the general listenablity of the record; even if all periods are represented and all the big hits are here, the lack of logic leads to a herky-jerky sequencing that is tiring on the ear. That said, this does have all the big hits -- "Believe," "If I Could Turn Back Time," "Just Like Jesse James," "After All," "I Found Someone," "The Shoop Shoop Song," "All I Really Want to Do," "Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down)," "Half-Breed," "Gypsies Tramps & Thieves," among them. And even if the presentation leaves a lot to be desired, it's still nice to have all these in one place.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Believe
  2. If I Could Turn Back Time
  3. Heart of Stone
  4. Just Like Jesse James
  5. Save Up All Your Tears
  6. After All (Love Theme from Chances Are)
  7. I Found Someone
  8. One by One [Junior Vasquez Vocal Edit]
  9. Strong Enough
  10. All or Nothing
  11. Song for the Lonely
  12. Take Me Home
  13. The Shoop Shoop Song (It's in His Kiss)
  14. All I Really Want to Do
  15. Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down)
  16. Half-Breed
  17. Gypsies, Tramps and Thieves
  18. Dark Lady
  19. The Beat Goes On
  20. I Got You Babe
  21. A Different Kind of Love Song [Rodney Jerkins Main Mix (Faster)]