Trail - 95.7FM
Castlegar - 90.3FM
Grand Forks - 103.3FM
Creston - AM 1340
Nelson - 106.9FM
Crawford Bay - 101FM
New Denver - 93.5FM
Kaslo - 95.3FM
Nakusp - 103.1FM

June 22, 1999
Pop/Rock, Comedy Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock

Album Review

Culled from some nine years worth of tapes, Paintin' the Town Brown: Ween Live '90-'98 comes close to approximating the full gonzo brilliance of a Ween live date -- granted, there's nothing quite like the experience of being there in the flesh, watching Deaner and Gener guzzling Jack Daniels while the Scotchgard-addled masses look on adoringly, but it's a fine substitute. The two-disc set (also available on three chocolate-colored vinyl LPs, natch) covers all of the duo's stage incarnations, from their earliest appearances (backed only by a drum machine) to the full band assembled in support of The Mollusk; the set list is admirably eclectic, foregoing fan favorites like "Push th' Little Daisies" and "Buenos Tardes Amigo" in lieu of non-album obscurities including "Mountain Dew," "Cover It with Gas and Set It on Fire" and "Vallejo." The highlights are a string of tunes from the now-legendary 1996 tour featuring Bobby Ogdin & the Shit Creek Boys, a group of ace Nashville sessionmen originally tapped to record Ween's classic 12 Golden Country Greats album.
Jason Ankeny, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Mushroom Festival in Hell
  2. Japanese Cowboy
  3. Mountain Dew
  4. Bumblebee
  5. Voodoo Lady
  6. Ode to Rene
  7. Mister Richard Smoker
  8. Doctor Rock
  9. I Can't Put My Finger on It
  10. Cover It with Gas and Set It on Fire
  11. Awesome Sound
  12. Tender Situation
  13. Mister Would You Please Help My Pony?
  14. I Saw Gener Cryin' in His Sleep
  15. Marble Tulip Juicy Tree
  16. She Fucks Me
  17. Poop Ship Destroyer
  18. Vallejo
  19. Puffycloud
purchase full album