Trail - 95.7FM
Castlegar - 90.3FM
Grand Forks - 103.3FM
Creston - AM 1340
Nelson - 106.9FM
Crawford Bay - 101FM
New Denver - 93.5FM
Kaslo - 95.3FM
Nakusp - 103.1FM

May 13, 1997
Blues, Blues-Rock, Modern Electric Blues, Psychedelic, Celtic Rock, Prog-Rock, Album Rock, British Invasion, Jazz-Rock, Regional Blues, British Blues, Contemporary Blues, Rock & Roll, Hard Rock, Folk-Rock

Album Review

Knights of the Blues Table is truly a labor of love. Originally conceived as a tribute to the "Godfathers of British Blues," Cyril Davies and Alexis Korner, the album ended up as a more general celebration of the genre's origins and rich history. The record includes uniformly great performances from members of virtually every important blues-influenced British rock group, including Humble Pie, Cream, Fleetwood Mac, Savoy Brown, John Mayall's Bluesbreakers, the Rolling Stones, Manfred Mann, and scores of others. The disc is a rock family-tree lover's dream, as it reveals the incestuous nature of the scene. What makes Knights of the Blues Table truly stand apart from other tribute records, though, is the obvious love and enthusiasm apparent in every performance. There's no musty musical grave robbing or label politics here. These guys love this music, and it's easy to forget that they once had to buck convention and risk ridicule just to play it. There are so many highlights it's hard to pick just a few, but obvious treats include great harmonica work from Mick Jagger on Lonnie Johnson's "Racketeer Blues" (with brother Chris Jagger on vocals), a rare vocal performance by Cream lyricist Pete Brown on Leroy Carr's "Rocks in My Head," an absolutely blistering take on "Blind Man" by ex-Stone the Crows vocalist Maggie Bell, and a sandpaper-voiced version of Robert Johnson's "Traveling Riverside Blues" by the legendarily reclusive and rarely recorded Peter Green. To top it all off, the album also includes a 1954 home recording of "KC Moan" performed by Cyril Davies himself. In short, Knights of the Blues Table is a recording of extreme historical and cultural importance, a must-have treasure trove for lovers of British blues, and a damn good listen to boot.
Pemberton Roach, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. K.C. Moan [#][*]
  2. Send for Me
  3. If You Live
  4. Go Down, Sunshine
  5. Racketeer's Blues
  6. Rocks in My Bed
  7. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
  8. Blind Man
  9. Traveling Riverside Blues
  10. Drop Down Mama
  11. I've Got News for You
  12. Nine Below Zero
  13. Judgement Day
  14. Play on Little Girl/T-Bone Shuffle
  15. One More Mile
  16. You Shook Me