Trail - 95.7FM
Castlegar - 90.3FM
Grand Forks - 103.3FM
Creston - AM 1340
Nelson - 106.9FM
Crawford Bay - 101FM
New Denver - 93.5FM
Kaslo - 95.3FM
Nakusp - 103.1FM

RELEASE
LABEL
Ranwood Records
GENRES
Country, Country-Pop, Bop, Jazz-Pop, Instrumental Country, Traditional Country, Nashville Sound/Countrypolitan

Album Review

At first glance, this project, which would be Joe Pass' final recording, might seem a bit unlikely. Pass is teamed up with country guitarist Roy Clark to play a set of Hank Williams tunes, but the date is actually quite successful. Clark has long been a closet jazz player; many of Williams' tunes have attractive chord changes, and Pass had his longtime rhythm section (rhythm guitarist John Pisano, bassist Jim Hughart and drummer Colin Bailey) serving as a solid foundation. Such songs as "Hey, Good Lookin'," "Your Cheatin' Heart," "Long Gone Lonesome Blues" and "There'll Be No Teardrops Tonight" work quite well in this setting. Since Clark (a brilliant guitarist himself) had long been a Joe Pass fan, the results are both competitive and complementary. Recommended.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Hey, Good Lookin'http://itunes.apple.com/album/hey-good-lookin/id79185995?i=79185943&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. I Can't Help It (If I'm Still in Love With You)http://itunes.apple.com/album/roy-clark-joe-pass-play-hank/id429485120?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. Your Cheatin' Hearthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/your-cheatin-heart/id79185995?i=79185954&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Blues for Hankhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/blues-for-hank/id79185995?i=79185958&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. Cold, Cold Hearthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/cold-cold-heart/id79185995?i=79185962&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Jambalaya (On the Bayou)http://itunes.apple.com/album/jambalaya-on-the-bayou/id79185995?i=79185966&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Long Gone Lonesome Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/long-gone-lonesome-blues/id79185995?i=79185970&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. Why Don't You Love Me (Like You Used to Do)?http://itunes.apple.com/album/roy-clark-joe-pass-play-hank/id429485120?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. Honky Tonk Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/honky-tonk-blues/id79185995?i=79185981&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. There'll Be No Teardrops Tonighthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/therell-be-no-teardrops-tonight/id79185995?i=79185985&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. I'll Never Get Out of This World Alivehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ill-never-get-out-this-world/id79185995?i=79185989&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. Kaw-Ligahttp://itunes.apple.com/album/kaw-liga/id79185995?i=79185991&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album