Trail - 95.7FM
Castlegar - 90.3FM
Grand Forks - 103.3FM
Creston - AM 1340
Nelson - 106.9FM
Crawford Bay - 101FM
New Denver - 93.5FM
Kaslo - 95.3FM
Nakusp - 103.1FM

September 27, 2011
Raven Records
Country, Traditional Country, Country-Pop, Honky Tonk, Nashville Sound/Countrypolitan

Album Review

Raven’s 2011 two-fer combines George Jones’ 1972 album George Jones (We Can Make It) with 1977’s I Wanta Sing -- the latter never previously released on CD -- adding a bunch of bonus cuts from 1973-1976 plus the 1977 “Leaving Love All Over the Place” to bring the CD up to a generous 28 tracks. Five years separate these two albums, so they don’t make the smoothest companions -- appropriately enough considering their titles, We Can Make It leans toward the melodramatic and I Wanta Sing is lighter, boasting a great novelty in “Old King Kong.” They may have different tones but the bonus tracks bridge the gap between the two albums and, as a package, this offers a lot of prime ‘70s George.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. We Can Make It
  2. I'll Take You to My World
  3. Kiss an Angel Good Morning
  4. All the Praises
  5. She's All I Got
  6. The Last Letter
  7. Loving You Could Never Be Better
  8. The King
  9. Try It, You'll Like It
  10. One of These Days
  11. Let's Make History
  12. That Singing Friend of Mine [*]
  13. On the Back Row [*]
  14. Nothing Ever Hurt Me (Half as Bad as Losing You) [*]
  15. Borrowed Angel [*]
  16. Memories of Us [*]
  17. Her Name Is... [*]
  18. I Wanta Sing
  19. Please Don't Sell Me Any More Whiskey Tonight
  20. They've Got Millions in Milwaukee
  21. If I Could Put Them All Together (I'd Have You)
  22. I Love You So Much It Hurts
  23. Rest in Peace
  24. Bull Mountain Lad
  25. Old King Kong
  26. You've Got the Best of Me Again
  27. It's a 10-33 (Let's Get Jesus on the Line)
  28. Leaving Love All Over the Place [*]