Trail - 95.7FM
Castlegar - 90.3FM
Grand Forks - 103.3FM
Creston - AM 1340
Nelson - 106.9FM
Crawford Bay - 101FM
New Denver - 93.5FM
Kaslo - 95.3FM
Nakusp - 103.1FM

Pop/Rock, Grunge, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock

Album Review

The rape and murder of the Gits' lead singer, Mia Zapata, was the catalyst for this benefit recording with Joan Jett stepping in on vocals. This record is not a quiet, melancholic tribute, but rather a full-on assault of angst and pain. "Sign of the Crab" opens the album with a galloping guitar riff that is matched by Jett's quickened vocals. This formula comes back again with gale-like potency on "Spear & Magic Helmet," which lyrically expresses the rage that the band feels about the tragedy. Jett eerily sings with the late Zapata's recorded voice on the track "Whirlwind," bringing to light the impact of the loss. Powerful tracks filled with gravity and poignant lyrics make this a unique album that is appropriate given the genesis of the project.
Erik Crawford, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Sign of the Crab
  2. Bob (Cousin O.)
  3. Drinking Song
  4. Spear & Magic Helmet
  5. Last to Know
  6. Guilt Within Your Head
  7. Whirlwind
  8. Another Shot of Whiskey
  9. Second Skin
  10. Activity GRRRL
  11. You Got a Problem
  12. Crimson & Clover
  13. Drunks
purchase full album