Trail - 95.7FM
Castlegar - 90.3FM
Grand Forks - 103.3FM
Creston - AM 1340
Nelson - 106.9FM
Crawford Bay - 101FM
New Denver - 93.5FM
Kaslo - 95.3FM
Nakusp - 103.1FM

Pop/Rock, Punk/New Wave, Hardcore Punk, American Underground, Post-Hardcore, Alternative/Indie Rock

Album Review

Occupying the space between the punk movement's departure and the arrival of grunge, Jettison is a definitive link between the two musical genres and, with its speedy slashing and grinding, is the most jarring and diverse of Naked Raygun's albums. Electrocuting guitars, pummeling drum beats, and unmerciful vocals, which combine the Misfits' "whoa-oh-oh" vocal with Naked Raygun's own straight-talking dirge, collaborate to make Jettison part art-rock dissonance, part down-your-throat punk. Pierre Kezdy's bass gurgles blood on one track, and is swampy on the next. Vocalist Jeff Pezzati's fast-talks like an auctioneer at one point, then sandblasts on the following turn. Throughout, John Haggerty's guitar buzzes and hacks, finally reaching its zenith on "Suspect Device," in which you could swear trees are being severed at their roots. Cementing everything together is Eric Spicer's drumming, which could easily pass as a battery of guns all firing at once. Moreover, the working-class ethic of Naked Raygun's sound consistently shines, whether its on the anthemic "Vanilla Blue" or the punk/big-guitar rock feel of "Coldbringer." Lyrically, while 1985's Throb Throb thrives on military politics, Jettison burns on the images and realities of a conservative-led nation, and on the social rules of the city; "Ghetto Mechanic" captures the essence of inner-city freelance labor as well as any song before or since. Quarterstick's reissue of Jettison adds three live bonus tracks to what is already a phenomenal album, a record that is a harbinger of bands like Fugazi and Shellac. Recorded at Chicago's Riviera Theater in November 1987, the live material has meaty guitars that are sprinkled with metallic flakes; one just has to close their eyes to imagine the mosh pit that formed in front of the stage that fall night.
Bob Gendron, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Soldiers Requiem
  2. When the Walls Come Down
  3. Walks in Cold
  4. Jettison
  5. Live Wire
  6. The Mule
  7. Coldbringer
  8. Blight
  9. Free Nation
  10. Hammeread
  11. Ghetto Mechanic
  12. Suspect Device
  13. Vanilla Blue [*]
  14. The Strip [Live][*]
  15. Roller Queen [Live][*]
  16. Backlash Jack [Live][*]